(Read Writing Down The Bones by Natalie Goldberg. For me, there’s a difference between writing practice and good writing. Good writing is writing after I’ve been inspired, when I think of something. Writing practice is writing to hopefully be inspired. If inspiration never comes, I consider all the pages exercise and the soreness muscles in my hand create an excuse for me to ditch the gym again. See? Everyone wins.
I’ve been writing for about an hour a day all week, but this is the only thing I’ve really thought of. This eight line long symbolic image. Crazy, isn’t it? Border lining a little pathetic, if I do say so myself. -J)

 

Its like walking down the beach
With a metal detector
When you happen to see
In the gorgeous weather

The sun’s light, angled to
Reflect the shine
Of a lost diamond
The Machine would have passed by.